Book review: ‘Madness in the Mainstream,’ by Mark Drolsbaugh

When I used to write at ‘Liz’s deaf blog,’ I written a book review of Mark Drolsbaugh, ‘Madness in the mainstream.’ Although it did give it some air play, I felt I had not gave it enough as I would have liked, with me deciding on ending that blog. The original blog post from my deaf blog is long gone. (There is no cache available.) So I am writing up a post best I can, here.

‘Madness in the Mainstream,’ by Mark Drolsbaugh is rare accounts of what goes on behind the scenes when deaf and hard of hearing students are placed in mainstream educational settings, in accordance to Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). (This link will tell you more about the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act.)

Mark Drolsbaugh uses his sense of humour and tell-it-like-it-is-approach, with input from his deaf son, as well as Mark Drolsbaugh’s own experience.

Dig into this book and you will discover:

  • The biggest myths in deaf education
  • What deaf and hard of hearing students aren’t telling their teachers
  • The long-term effects of mainstreaming and how to address them
  • The impact on students with cochlear implants
  • Survival skills of the deaf and hard of hearing
  • Social bluffing vs. self-advocacy
  • Eye-opening, real life stories

Although my deafness came on in adult life, there were some things I could relate to in this book, just like a previous book I once read; ‘On the fence: The Hidden World of the Hard of Hearing.’ (This book though, I had more in common with.)

The video below is of Mark Drolsbaugh talking about his ‘Madness in the Mainstream,’ book.

Both of the books I recommend reading.

For further information about Mark Drolsbaugh books, visit Handwave Publications.

