Misconceptions About Antidepressants 

A post I thought I’d share from blogger, Megan. Megan clears up some misconceptions about antidepressants, which I think is a great post to read. Some of the things I use to hear myself when I first was on them.

Sail Through My Thoughts


I was scared to take antidepressants because of all of the negative things I have heard. Antidepressants won’t work for everyone, but you shouldn’t be scared to try them. Recovery is a trial and error process, and all options should be considered. Here is a list of common misconceptions about antidepressants:

1. Antidepressants cause a false sense of happiness: This is not accurate. Antidepressants cause serotonin levels to rise. Serotonin is the chemical responsible for happiness, but it does not directly cause happiness. Antidepressants make it possible to feel happy, but they won’t cause you to feel happy for no reason.

2. Antidepressants cause you to act robotic: This isn’t true in every case. In fact, pretending not to have emotions is a common defense mechanism, and that might be coming into play. Also, the recovery from depression is not a straight uphill slope. Recovery will fluctuate and that will…

View original post 122 more words

One thought on “Misconceptions About Antidepressants 

Comments are closed.