Volunteering is good for self-esteem

If you have low self-esteem, then getting out of your comfort zone and volunteering will help improve your self-esteem.
Those that have known me from a previous blog I used to write, will know that Ashfield Play Forum was the first place I volunteered at. At was at my lowest moment prior to starting there; not feeling good because of work, confidence really low and I was depressed. I also started shutting off people close to me by not speaking, if I could.

I started volunteering at Ashfield Play Forum in January 2014 and I am still there, enjoying a wide variety of tasks. I like helping where I can and it improved my confidence and made me speak, which in turn made me feel I could speak up again to family, or close friends. I also felt useful.

July 2015 I started a new volunteering opportunity with Nottinghamshire Hospice, volunteering in a shop. This volunteering role took me out of my comfort zone and I enjoyed it there. Although I started off in the shop itself, I ended up working upstairs, as this was where I felt I was doing something and I felt useful; steaming the clothes and occasionally sorting. Although I loved it, I decided to leave after not quite a year being there, to pursue something different. This was then when I decided to volunteer at Rosewood.
Rosewood was the best move I made, as you will know when I talked about it here in this post. Although it is still early days and I have not yet started my volunteering role in feedback and patient experience, I still feel positive about my chosen volunteering route and I look forward to gaining different experiences.

So I definitely recommend volunteering to anyone. Just find what you’d like to do when it comes to volunteering, as there are different places you can volunteer at and give it a go. As well as improving your self-esteem and confidence, it can also be good for your CV, as well as for the company/charity you volunteer for.

 

This post is also now tagged to The Daily Post; Daily Prompt: Volunteer.

 

3 thoughts on “Volunteering is good for self-esteem

    1. Thank you. Yes, I have got so much out of the volunteering. My latest role even more than I ever expected. Looking forward to what new experiences it brings.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.