Grief

In my draft box for some time, I have had a post labelled ‘grief’ that I never started, because I did not know how to start this off with what I was feeling. After I came across this post of the same name by Courage Coaching, I just had to share this post, as I could relate to this post well. But one thing I never thought of as grief would be a childhood that someone has never had. Now I can say I have had a bit of a childhood, but it wasn’t great as you know from my blogging posts. I realised after reading this post and remembering my counselling sessions I had, I did grieve for some of my childhood. It took this post to give me a flashback of my counselling, to realise this.

When I was going to write my own post of grief, the post I had in mind to write about, but struggled to start it off, was to do with dementia.

My aunt has dementia. Me and my Mum learnt about this two, or three years ago. It’s since last year, near Christmas how dementia is taking my aunt away and my Mum’s sister. This is our grief. She is still here with us, but not how she was before. We learn to know her as she is now, which can vary each day. Dementia has really taken hold of my aunt these last few months.

I have seen the effects of dementia, but what has hurt for me, is seeing how it hurts my family. I feel helpless, but it has got easier now.

Advice I can give for someone who is struggling, like I gave my mum, is enjoy your day with them and find something that is positive, if it feels a hard time for you that day. Any small thing, it dies not matter. Remember those small things for days that could be bad. This could be just by getting a single word out of your family member, or a smile. When it was difficult for me, this was what I remember, but the last few weeks there has been lots of smiles from my aunt, when I have seen her, that I cherish. Each day, or week can vary with dementia. So it is important to hold on to those small things, for when those difficult days arrive.

Although grief is a huge part of life, it is something that none of us want to experience. We can grieve over the loss of a loved one or beloved pet. We can grieve over the loss of a job or home. We can grieve whenever a new change happens in our lives, such as […]

via Grief — Courage Coaching

4 thoughts on “Grief

Comments are closed.