Antidepressants

Past antidepressant I have been on has been Citalopram and now Sertraline.
Citalopram, worked quickly for me. I remember though that I was particularly feeling tired for the first few days, but it did wear off before the end of the week. The only time I would actually feel tired after that, would be within 45 minutes to an hour of taking it, prior to going to bed at night. I was on this for a year, which included the time coming off them gradually under doctors advice.

When I talked being on antidepressants again, the one I now take is Sertraline. Sertraline I found that it took several weeks before it seemed to take effect on me, which my doctor did warn me about, but however it did still concern me. When the tablet worked for me, it was difficult to describe how I knew it worked, because I was comparing how I was with the other antidepressant I once knew. Which was wrong for me to do, but I could not help it. Not feeling tired was one symptom I did not have. It did take me a while to realise that this tablet was helping, in its own way and to realise I was starting to feel myself again. Without my counselling alongside taking my antidepressants though, I would not have made a complete recovery.

When you are on antidepressants, you will probably hear a lot of negativity about them from those who are supposed to be your friend, or some family members. The first time I was on them, I unfortunately did and it does not help when you are battling with what they are opposing, to what your own doctor is talking about to you. Please do remember what your own doctor tells you and if you are not sure about anything, then please do ask your doctor questions, as he/she will only be happy to help.
Luckily, what I experienced first time round, I did not experience this time round. Instead I only received positive support.

For further reading, don’t forget this post I shared from another blog, where Megan clears up some misconceptions about antidepressants.

You can also read further about antidepressants via NHS Choices.

2 thoughts on “Antidepressants

  1. Thanks for this. I know there is still some stigma attached to taking tablets… my mother always used to question me closely and seemed to be of the impression that any help of this nature was “valium”. I wouldn’t be without antidepressants and have been on them for pretty much 30 years. The modern ones are so much better.

    Like

    1. My Mum has also been on medication all her life for her mental health. Not as much medication as to when I was a child though. Mum will always be on them, because of how long she has been on them. Modern ones are better now then they were, but yes, there is still that stigma in regards to taking them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

