The Doctor Who Gave Up Drugs (BBC) – my thoughts as a medicated patient

I have watched “The Doctor Who Gave Up Drugs,” this morning on the BBC iPlayer. This documentary comes in two parts and I did nearly forget to watch it until I seen Sarah’s post, (which I re-blog here.) Watching the documentary was an eye-opener, but also in parts, it has proved to me what I have said in the past to friends that eating healthier and doing some form of physical exercise to suit you, makes a big difference too. If you have not seen this documentary then I strongly recommend you watch it.

sarahreturnstolife

I have not seen such an eye opening programme for a long time. If you take a paracetamol for every headache or feel disappointed when you don’t come away from the doctors with a prescription, I would thoroughly recommend watching it. By taking some time to listen to patients’ individual needs, this doctor managed to wean chronic pain sufferers off their codiene and halve the dose of antidepressants for a woman who had been on them for years. It has totally changed my perception of prescriptions, but those of you who know me may be thinking YOU HYPOCRITE. I am currently taking a lot of tablets, which I believe are necessary, but that is not to say that they are necessary for everyone.

I cannot deny that drugs are currently responsible for my ability to function

I am a great believer in trying talking therapies before medication. Pills will never…

View original post 480 more words

2 thoughts on “The Doctor Who Gave Up Drugs (BBC) – my thoughts as a medicated patient

Leave a Reply

