Getting that last bit out

I have come to the end of my favourite moisturising lotion, that is in a pump bottle. The situation where you pump, but nothing comes out, but you know by the weight of it, there is still plenty in there. How annoying it is, that the pump dispenser is not designed to touch the bottom.

Cutting the bottle is one option, but I didn’t want to do that, when I know that the cream will last me more than a day or two. Tipping it up for this make of lotion, which is Aveeno I am using, I found it just will not budge.
I did not want to add a spot of water to the lotion, but this was the tip I found, when Googling, to help it come out and if I did not want to cut the bottle, then this was what I was going to have to do.
The other tip I also found, was adding a tube to extend the original, so it reaches the bottom, which I thought was a very good tip, but as I did not want to spend anything, then I was using what I did below.

But what was I going to let it tip into, without it costing me anything? And how was I going to do it?

This was how I did it, without costing me any money.

IMG_1047.JPG

I used one half of an empty Dairylea container that was in my recycling bag and I cut a circle out of it, in the middle, enough to fit the bottle in. I then put this on top of a food container I am no longer going to use for food, but good enough to store lotion in. This will be left overnight, allowing it to all slowly drain out.
The other bottle that is lying down in the photo, has some lotion left in too. It is a slightly thinner lotion, so it may come out eventually without adding water, but if I do find it needs some water, it won’t need as much as the other lotion did.

4 thoughts on “Getting that last bit out

    1. Oh yes. 😀 There is about an inch worth of moisturising lotion that would have been wasted in my bottle if I did not do this. I want my every pennies worth. 😀

      Like

  1. That sounds clever! – my other half has a habit of getting ages out the end of something – with toothpaste I now know often he will get about another week when I can’t get any out the tube any more.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.