Inspire me, my car driving friends.

Are you a manual car driver? Then I am calling on you to inspire me. 🙂

For some time now, I have thought about learning to drive, but it was always going to be in an automatic car. I seemed to feel surprisingly calm at the idea, but I did try to sway myself this year and try manual, but the thought of it just panicked me. After a recent chat with a family member on driving a car, he told me how you drive a car in a way that was easy for me to grasp. Although, the idea of driving a manual car, I still have doubts about, which is mainly hand and foot co-ordination. Also, I still wonder if manual driving is for me, because I have observed how many times a driver manually changes the gears while driving through the city and a seems a headache to me.

Now I have never driven a car, so these are only my thoughts about driving a manual car and not experiences, so this is where you come in. Do you drive a manual car? If so,  going back to prior having lessons, did you used to think to yourself I don’t have hand and foot co-ordination? This is my concern when driving a manual car; having gear and clutch co-ordination. Did it end up that co-ordination with the clutch and gears were better than what you originally feared?

Share me your thoughts and inspirations to me and for others who may be reading this and feeling the same as me, when it comes to driving a manual car.

13 thoughts on “Inspire me, my car driving friends.

  1. I would choose automatic Liz, but if you have any problems i.e. Car servicing, its very unlikely you will get an automatic loan car as you know from my previous experience. If you have friends who can help you out while having car serviced or having it MOT to give you lift then I would choose automatic.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think a beginner should start with an automatic. Unless you have a huge area to practice in, like a field or clear parking lot, you might not feel as confident in a manual as you would an automatic. Once you learn to drive, you might want to try a manual. I grew up on a motorcycle, which required the switching of the gears, so I already had the concept figured out when I started driving, but I still started in an automatic and advanced to a manual. Good luck, keep us posted!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If you think you can, you will.
    If you think you can’t, you won’t.
    Either way, you are right. 😀

    Liz,
    If you know a manual car is too difficult, then it will be. And that is okay!

    I LOVE a manual over an automatic.
    Once you get a ‘feel’ for manual, it becomes part of you.
    You do not even think about shifting.

    Did you ever learn to ride a bike?
    Was it hard?
    Bike riding takes a lot of coordination.
    What about using a sewing machine? Hand foot coordination is needed.
    How about typing? Dual hand coordination …

    If you have never driven, start with what you feel most comfortable with.
    Choose the path of lease resistance.
    Life is meant to be fun.
    Hugz,
    ren
    😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lovely comment Ren and thank you. Yes, I have learnt to ride a bike. I do remember finding it hard, but although I did, I actually took to it well and was riding myself within 10 minutes. I was 10 when I first learnt.
      I have used a sewing machine in the past, so probs there and typing, I do use two hands to type, put not the proper typing.
      I think although I have nearly been swayed to try manual, I think I need to stick with he automatic idea. I can always try manual later if needed, or if wanted. Automatic seems to be comfortable to me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That is a great resolve, Liz. Happy for you. You can try a manual once you are an experienced driver of an automatic. The path of least resistance.
        No shame in that. Yay!

        You learned to ride a bike in 10 minutes? Are you serious? Took me forever!!!

        And who says there is a proper way to type? If it gets the job done, then it is proper. Yes? 😀 Hugz, ren

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, if typing gets done then it’s right for you.

        Yes, it really only took me 10 minutes to ride a bike. I thought the person teaching me was still holding the bike, until I looked round. I then wobbled and stopped, which the person teaching me laughed and said why did I stop? you was riding. I then got back on and carried on. His son who was a year younger or two, it took him a couple of days, with accidents on a couple of occasions. One was riding into the nettles.

        Like

  4. Taking the plunge and learning to drive is awesome. Accomplish a goal at a time…learn to drive and then tackle the stick. I enjoy a manual because I am a gear head. In the end, you have to be comfortable when driving.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve never been a fan of automatic cars. I prefer using gears. It’s such a part of me already that I don’t even think about when I change gears. It becomes innate. I started off with manual as well, and after a few weeks, it became easier and easier. It’s entirely your choice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

