Volunteer update

After leaving the one that did not make use of me, I was hoping to volunteer elsewhere, that would not be too far to travel to. This would have been with Mind and I posted the application for volunteering with them, near the end of last week.

I heard from them today, thanking me for applying to be a volunteer. But unfortunately, they have any volunteer vacancies at present that will fit with my availability.

I can’t say I don’t feel disappointed to hear this and upset about this, as I was looking forward to the possibility of helping there. I am not going to apply anywhere else I had in mind, that came second to this one. Instead, I am just going to take this as a blessing in disguise. I am going to concentrate on finishing my final piece of my mental health course, which a lot of work is going into this final piece and I have the other two to courses to over the next year. So more time to focus on them.

Also, I plan to sort out dates for driving lessons, so more flexibility to concentrate on this and free time to arrange more than one lesson a week when it comes to learning to drive. So this is why I think it is a blessing in disguise.

 

14 thoughts on “Volunteer update

  1. It’s a shame about Mind but I think you’re right in looking at it as a blessing; you’ve got other things going on right now and you can always fit in volunteering at a later date when it’s more suitable for you and when spaces are available. I’m not sure if I’ve read anywhere the exact mental health course(s) you’re doing; I’ve got a Psych degree and wanted to go in to mental health, hence I’m quite interested to hear what it is you’re doing! 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This post tells you about my Mental Health course where I shared the link to where I am doing the course: https://mywellbeingandlearningjourney.wordpress.com/2016/03/19/continuing-my-learning-journey/

      I have so far maintained High Merit with this course all throughout and I have faith I will remain the same with the last piece.

      I am also doing a Health Care Foundation and a Health Care: Challenging Managing Behaviour. But these two courses will just show I have learnt and won’t be worth anything like the mental health course one.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for letting me know, it’s interesting to see what courses you’re doing, especially as I’d not come across BSY before so I’ve been taking a little look around the website. Sounds like you are doing brilliantly with maintaining High Merit throughout, so I wish you all the best with the last piece! x

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you. I am still finishing off this final piece. I am at the stage on typing it up, then have a re-read, to see if I am happy with everything and the final question, I need to check its at least 500 words.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s a shame Liz, you will find somewhere eventionally. Good luck in the rest of your coursework, you have done quite well up to know on your course work. I am really proud of you Liz of how for you have come Liz since I have met you. YOU CAN DO IT LIZ 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. By the time I devote the year to the two remaining courses and hopefully passed my driving test, I hope it doesn’t take too long to save for a car.
      If that’s the case, by the time I have my car, I will be looking at a different way in getting employment in care work possibly and so volunteering will be last thing on my mind. Until then, it my course work and learning to drive with fun in between.

      Like

      1. Thank you. If I pass this year, then it will take me a while before affording a car, which hopefully no longer than a couple of years, but depends on what happens between now and then. It will be interesting, when driving, how things change. I have certainly heard a lot about being free and I hope better options come for me too. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.