Chit Chat – Back after my blogging break

Hello everyone and I am back from my unexpected break. Instead of coming back in July as I originally planned, I have instead decided to come back earlier as I need to use my blog to get of stress and anxiety from today. I need a distraction. The stress of today, I will reveal in a much later post, until then, I want to keep the remainder of todays post as originally written. 
Firstly, I would like to say welcome to new followers that have joined while I have been away. Thank you for following and thank you to everyone else who has stuck around while I took a break and for the support.

Lots of things have been happening that I share in this post, some things I have kept short, to share in its own post later to keep this post as short as possible.
The first active post I aired was just before this one. It was a post I had shared in the past, but I took it down to be re-edited after realising I had mis-spelt the topic in question. Oops. 

I received ‘High Merit,’ in my Mental Health Course I was doing and I have my certificates safely put away in my CPD folder. 

Changing the way I use the internet

After taking time out and doing other things I mention here, I decided to quit my home broadband package and I now use a pay as you go dongle. I have wanted to do this for the last three years, but I had what I had through following advice of others. I have always believed I could save more money and with me not constantly being on the internet all day and not personally using my landline phone for some time because I cannot hear on it, I thought it was a waste. I only used text relay service when phoning my mum the odd times and I do not feel confident phoning anyone else who does not know me via it, otherwise I see my communication just being text and email.
I felt I was wasting money and I thought I am going to do this now. Doing it this way meant though there was a couple of other changes I would need to make.
One change was to avoid on demand players and You Tube clips. (Not that I was always on these anyway. So I know I can live without and no issues there.) If near when the allowance expires I have some data allowance left, then that’s when I will watch a You Tube clip, which will be the guy that makes me laugh; Tiny Tim’s Adventures. (I talked about him, in this post.)
The other change, will be even less time on Facebook, than I already did prior and I have cleared a lot of my posts off Facebook, leaving mostly just my blog posts airing. I will occasionally post other stuff, other than blogging posts on there, but it won’t be much and the likely hood of me using the private message function there now, will be rare to practically nil. I also stopped following some pages on there too. No point following when I won’t be looking, because of spending less time there, on Facebook.
My blogging won’t change and I will post when I have something to share. Browsing the web when needed and emails won’t change either. The only difference will be, that I won’t be constantly connected.

Getting rid of the TV

I also decided to get rid of my TV. I sold the TV, the glass TV stand and my DVD player. I won’t be having any other TV in my home, or watching the online tv players, meaning I will be saving money by not needing the TV license. I have done this twice before in the past, so no biggie for me.
The first time I had about two years with no TV license, the second time a bit longer.
No doubt, I will have a letter later and a visit from the TV inspector somewhere down the line, to check I am doing nothing I shouldn’t be doing, now I am deciding to this again. But I have got to say, unless things have changed since, I have never felt harassed, or bullied by them in the past because I choose to not have a TV etc, as I have read about online from other people who apparently have.

Getting rid of the TV meant I changed the layout of my living room, to make it feel homely in a different way. I was looked forward to changing the room accordingly.

My garden

While I have been away, I have focused on my garden. Some more work has been happening here, which I will share in a post of its own later. I realise now that I have been in my garden doing things here and there over time, just how important it has been to me. I have observed how I have felt after spending time out there. So at anytime in the future when I plan another house move into a final place I would like to be, I will make sure I spend time outside in nature.
This final move won’t happen till some years down the line, when I no longer have my cat, Miley, as where I would like to live would be a downstairs flat and I would not be allowed to have a cat. Now if things change in terms of work, or if I win the lottery, then my final wish of where I would like to live would change and that could change to anything. 

Baking

I have been baking more porridge berry bakes, banana, oat and blueberry pancakes and I have also been baking a rhubarb cake. The rhubarb cake I had a few attempts at till I got it right, as the original recipe was  so sweet, that the first time I had to throw it away. I will share this recipe in a post of its own later. Both the porridge berry bakes and the rhubarb cake I enjoyed sharing the recipes with my mum, as she was interested in making them herself, after trying mine.

Doodling, drawing and reading books and poems

I have also been enjoying doodling, drawing and reading books, while taking a couple of weeks break away from my studying. I will share these book review later in posts of their own, as well as some of my doodles and drawings.
I am surprised how much I enjoyed reading alternative books, away from my study ones, as I thought I was getting fed up of sticking my head in books a lately.

Mum has been writing some more poems and I have been reading them. My mum wanted my approval and as always, I liked them.

Driving lessons

Looking for automatic car driving lessons has not been easy, to say driving an automatic car is popular. I found that there were not many driving schools in my area that offer them and the schools that did, had long waiting lists. (As to be expected.) One example of a driving school waiting list said to try again in 10 to 12 weeks time and hopefully they can get me in then. (Not much of  guarantee.) So as much as I would like to drive an automatic car, if I wanted experience on the road sooner, then I had to give a manual car a go. I will tell you more about this later, in a separate post.

Travelling

I have been travelling to places I have not been before and so to keep up with doing something out of my comfort zone.
Back in March, I went to Alfreton for the day and I felt right at home to say I had not been here before and I was surprised it was not far away, travelling on the bus as I thought. A shop that used to be in my local area, but closed down to concentrate on the one in Alfreton I found easily and I enjoyed walking around the town centre, stopping at a cafe for lunch. I enjoyed it so much, that I went again the following week. This time my mum came with me and we went to the same cafe I had been to before, as well as the shop, which mum treated herself to a bag. Mum enjoyed it too down Alfreton and she said she may even make her own way down here next time.

I also took a trip down to Derby. I have only been there twice and it was some years ago when I last travelled there. I always relied on someone else when I last went, who knew the place, so me choosing to go myself and it being a long time since I had last been, it was another step out of my comfort zone. 

In May I went on a weekend coach holiday, to Warwick and Stratford Upon Avon. It was the first time visiting here and something that I had planned long ago and I really enjoyed it. Although I did have my camera with me, I decided not to take any photos and enjoy for what it was, taking in the sites, as this may be my last holiday for a while.
I have noticed while travelling and exploring these new places and the above, that I hardly had any anxiety. So that was good. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Chit Chat – Back after my blogging break

  1. Welcome back & congrats on the high merit! Must admit I don’t like the idea of an automatic car, but perhaps that’s because I’ve used manual for 10 years and never actually used an automatic! I’ll be interested to read more about what’s been going on in later posts, but I just wanted to say that I hope you’re okay with the stressful times you’ve been going through. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Many thanks for the congratulations on my merit and best wishes with the stressful times I have had. It is very much appreciated. I had stressful morning and so I needed a distraction. So back to blogging early. I still feel low, but not as I did earlier. I am working on the post to explain that part and I hope to air it in the morning. x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

