I am having no more manual driving lessons

Yesterday was my 12th driving lesson which was a little bit mixed in how I responded to driving, as I seemed to have taken a few steps back, which something I felt, but also my instructor mentioned.
Being a new situation, I stalled a few times, which my instructor said was all normal. But the stalling was avoidable because I was in the wrong gear needed at that time. I thought I was having trouble with both the clutch and gears again, until the instructor said it was because I was in the wrong gear. So just when I think I have got the knack, I haven’t.

Now I can understand when the instructor needs to grab the steering wheel at certain times if I am putting us in danger some how. That I accept. But once again, the steering wheel was grabbed and I wondered at that point it was happening as in what I am doing wrong now. I heard him wrong again, as I thought I was going to be doing a left turn ahead. I did not hear him say pull over.
This situation does not help me when I am anxious, (which when I said I did not hear him say that and was preparing a left turn ahead, he did apologise for that.)
I nearly broke down in tears, which I bet he noticed because I could feel my chin quivering. I was already sore from the sharp brake before that he had to do, but when it happened for this situation, it stung even more and I am feeling it.
This has not been the first time in a lesson he has wanted me to pull over before and grab the steering wheel to do it, because I did not hear him, instead preparing to do my turn I thought I heard.
Although I was partly upbeat when I left, by night-time I cried big time, to an extent I have not done before.
This morning I am still feeling low and, tearful and I contacted him to tell him I would not be having more lessons, so to refund what I paid in advance accordingly. I will still though be interested in taking my theory test and so I will look out for the appropriate email for that.

I have contacted this morning via email, one of the driving schools I contacted before regarding automatic driving lessons. I wish I never took my name off this one some weeks ago, along with another. I am hoping they will put my name back down back on their driving school list.

13 thoughts on “I am having no more manual driving lessons

  1. You’ve literally written what happened with me although I wasn’t as quick as you to take practical steps forward and I quit and then tried again and then quit and repeat for 10 years! 10 YEARS!! then I finally learnt in an auto so I think this is a really good idea. Driving an auto is easy, it really is. All you need to concentrate on is the road and it’s just stop and go! I think this will build your confidence so much.

    Don’t be hard on yourself, it’s such a hard skill to learn I know.

    Xx

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you for sharing your experience. I know that when driving an automatic I will probably have that extra anxiety than needed due to low confidence I have, but hopefully it will quickly go.

      I will try not to be hard on myself. x

      Like

  2. Im sure this feels disappointing. Hopefully with a different teacher you will be back in the student-driver seat soon. Be kind to yourself. You are undertaking a big new skill. ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes it feels disappointing, as I wanted to so much at least pass in a manual, just to say I had done it. But I just want to look forward to automatic lessons now and get driving. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh I’m so sorry you’ve had a rough time with it, he doesn’t sound too empathic or understanding at all.. I remember coming across an instructor ages ago that advertised services for those with disabilities and/or anxiety (I’d finally managed to pass by that point otherwise I would have given them a call because someone more understanding of anxiety would have been brilliant). You can do this, you’ll get there, and I hope you don’t wait too long to get to see the next instructor.xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I hope I don’t have to wait too long for automatic lessons either. I have emailed one and waiting to hear from them, so I know it is official that I am on their waiting list and decide from there whether to put my name down on another driving school waiting list. x

      Like

    1. Thanks. Yes, the automatic should be better. I have a friend who drives an automatic and he prefers this. But he can drive a manual as well, which comes in handy now and again. x

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.