The effects from my last manual driving lesson

As you know from this post; I am having no more manual driving lessons, that I am having no more manual driving lessons. As you know, the last lesson I felt I had made two steps back, I had anxiety at a level that was not good and not helped by instructor in what he did on one occasion towards the end, that he did once before in another lesson; pulling me over when I did not hear him say pull over and instead thinking he wanted me to do  left turn.
But there was another effect I had from the lesson, that I did not mention in that post, until now.
I am still struggling with keeping my voice. I am assumed this was through anxiety, but I wasn’t sure. But after seeing how I was over the next few days and then looking it up, I see it is. I felt embarrassed by this, but I see from reading it up that I don’t need to be embarrassed. This is a new thing for me where stress has affected my voice and I am still struggling with it as this post goes to air.

I still feel a little down and I have a little anxiety still, especially as I know I will be having my first automatic driving lesson sooner than expected. But I am still determined to drive and if that means driving in an automatic, then so be it. I don’t care. I can see me getting on with it well, when anxiety settles, because of no clutch and gears to worry about. They were a distraction. I have tried my best with a manual, but it is not for me, so bring on automatic.

Thank you for your lovely support, when I announced I was quitting manual for automatic driving lessons and how it affected me, while trying to learn in a manual car. It is very much appreciated.

10 thoughts on “The effects from my last manual driving lesson

  1. I think you’re doing brilliantly to keep going and to change to automatic. That’s the thing, to keep going. It took me 7 (I think – I lost count!) tests before I past, and the expense alone brought tears to my eyes. It was due to anxiety, and one I was medicated I passed. That was years ago now, and after all of the heartache of going through a diagnosis and stressing over driving, it was the perseverance that counted the most. You can do this! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you. And that is more thanks then I can give here, for your lovely comments you have left here on my blog posts. 🙂 It means a lot. x

      I will certainly keep everyone updated in my blog posts to come and hopefully after the first lesson. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing and for good wishes on driving lessons. I managed to maintain my voice at a particular level last night, but it’s not my usual and my throat ached at times. But hopefully it will get back to normal soon. x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can relate so much to the challenge of learning to drive…I gave up in Greece with manual driving lessons as my teacher was awful and had no understanding of anxiety…I also would like to re-do my driving lessons in the future as my husband has a car. We will be moving back to UK mid to end of next year but the car will have the steering wheel on the wrong side…I am thinking whether I should just do driving lessons here in Germany before moving back otherwise it might be too hard learning in a British car and then having to drive a German car..My PTSD makes everything a challenge as I get overwhelmed easily..I also like the idea of an automatic so I wish you the best of luck with your new lessons. x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You are doing great! I love your determination. We take driving for granted here with our kids learning to drive at 15. As an adult it’s a while different ball game. Keep up and good luck with your first automatic lesson. Cheering you on!!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.